Thursday, August 5, 2010

Is this heaven? No, it's Iowa...





Car three catchin' up with y'all...now, that subject line...what movie is it from?











Think on it. Here's a couple hints...





And one more...cue "Jeopardy" music...and DONE!




Did you get it?




" Build it, and they will come.". And we did...to a big cornfield in the middle of Dyersville, Iowa.


Can you see? It's the baseball field built for the Kevin Costner movie "Field of Dreams"! Anyone can go and play ball and just walk around and enjoy it...




And it was so fun! As you can see, I ran the bases and we both walked out of the corn and just stretched our legs and felt that little bit of heaven that is Iowa in the late afternoon...


Very cool.




And that's not all. Stay tuned...

-Judy

























Tuesday, August 3, 2010

Idaho

This is totally out of sequence, but had to post.
Idaho was mad intense. Over 100 degrees, scrub desert, hours and hours.
Idaho.
Whoa.

Tomorrow more down-to-earth posts...Iowa, Wyoming...gentler pastures...
-Judy

me and abe

Well I arrived in Springfield after a 400 mile day.....drove by the Hoosier's Gym in Indiana, Antioch College in Yellow Springs, Ohio and the Indiana High School Basketball Hall of Fame and about 200 Jesus Saves Billboards....of, and of course lots of corn.....temperature today of 95 with a heat index (whatever that means) of 110....more of the same tomorrow....Joyce and Lucy are in Ashland and the movers arrived today....they are exhausted but happy to be there....tomorrow I'll check out the Lincoln Museum and Library and get a tour of his house.....my next project is to figure out how to get some photos on line.....I welcome any suggestions......Uncle P2

Car Three- Makin' Tracks!

Been awhile since we've checked in, huh? Crossed many many miles since then, and here's some to share.


After Niagara, we headed out through the fields of Pennsylvania and Ohio, making heavy tracks through alot of highways...
Not much to see but cut through Cleveland:









Home of the Cleveland Indians-cool you could see the stadium right from the highway!




And saw one of the most beautiful sunsets I've ever seen on the highways of Ohio...















Finished that evening with a long drive across Indiana (no prairie shots- honestly not so much to see) and camped in Michigan.


-----------------------------------------------------------------------

Morning saw us rolling through Chicago, though we took the roads around so as to avoid the madness.









Then headed through the countryside of Illinois and into Iowa. Flat. Flat. Flat. Check it out, although I can sum it up in one word:




Corn. They call it the heartland of America, the breadbasket as it were. Goodness me I can see why. I have to say, I loved it. Almost felt like I was back in Vermont, but just corn and turbines and fields as far as the eye could see.








But before you write off Iowa as completely boring, I must say Iowa gets its own post...for small slow corn country there's a lot there. A special field...a house fit for kings...stay tuned for Iowa's very own post. Coming soon...
-Judy

Friday, July 30, 2010

Niagara Falls

We arrived in Niagara Falls around 9:30 at night...drove to the YMCA (it's NOT so fun to stay at the Y...M...C.A., by the way! Everyone was super nice but you know... it was DEFINITELY just a place to crash).

So, we arrived, dropped off a bag and headed to Goat Island, situated in the Niagara River which divides NY and Ottawa, Canada:



As you can see, it was way dark by the time we made it to Terrapin Point, but they had a nice lightshow on The Falls. We were standing right over Horseshoe Falls but could also see Bridal Veil Falls as well. Too dark to get the pictures to come out clearly, but here I am...









And if you think I'm lookin' pretty cold and pretty wet, you're right! MAN, I was DRENCHED in The Falls.




We made tracks back to the car pretty quick, but as we did, they had a great fireworks show over Bridal Veil, which was such a nice closing to our first night on the road and the start of our trip.


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Had me feelin' like THIS in the morning!




This shot is from Prospect Park, so these are Bridal Veil Falls, I think. You can go down right around the base of the Falls (for a price, of course!), or head to the Maid of the Mist:



So beautiful, isn't it. My mom totally wanted me to go on this, and I kept saying "No, no...I won't even WANT to spend the money on this...totally cheesy, no way." Of course, when I got there, the more I looked at the boats placidly steaming through the mist all around, I wanted to go on. Oh well- timing didn't work out for checking out of the YMCA and of course we needed to get back on the road. Another time.




We still had a super-cool day! -Judy


And AWAY WE GO!

CAR THREE...DEPARTS!!

Away we go!
Please bear with me. Am trying to figure out how this Blogger works- it's a bit tricky but we'll see if I can get through this first post.



As you can see, we took off on Wednesday the 28th. Drove through some lovely Vermont roads (that pic of Mark is in Springfield VT which is officially the Springfield of "The Simpsons Movie" launching fame, BTW...).














That highway picture here is heading off the NY Turnpike, which was crowded but efficient. And as you can see...we're off to...NIAGARA FALLS!!!






Saw some pretty shots coming into Niagara Falls, NY, which is actually much more industrial than I had imagined...










We DID make it to Niagara and have some nice shots from there...please come back for our next McDonalds pit stop when I'll try to upload some more!

-Judy